Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
secondhalf_gw

Appliance angst-too many options

secondhalf
11 years ago

Please tell me if I will regret:

36" gas range and GE advantium as occasional second oven.

My other option is 30" cooktop and double wall ovens but in looking at the remodel plans, the only place for the wall ovens just isn't a great spot.

I love the look of the professional 36" range. But I really would love two ovens. But again...space is an issue.

And if I do go with the 36", and I have 5-6000 to spend on it, what would you recommend? I am a decent cook, would like to get better, and I enjoy baking.

Thanks in advance...you guys are great.

Comment (1)

• mojavean
    11 years ago

There is no accounting for taste in these matters, I am afraid. All I can say is the we are quite happy with our 36" Bluestar range and our Miele Speed Oven. Your proposed layout would be quite similar. The reports on the 240Volt Advantiums are quite favorable around here and I would not hesitate to look at one if our Miele ever expires.

What I really like is that I have a small oven that may be used for just about any sort of baked dish. It heats up quickly and is mounted conveniently at eye-level. The speed modes work great for casseroles and the like and you don't have to heat up the big oven in the range for single-meal baking.

On the other hand, you have the immense oven in the Bluestar, which heats quite evenly, much more so than any oven we have ever had, for big items or Pizza night.