Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rdw829

Appliance Help for a Total Newbie / Novice

rdw829
11 years ago

We are re-doing our kitchen next month (!) and will be shopping for all new appliances. I'm looking for advice or recommendations for quality appliances - but they don't need to be top of the line. We're a family of four, and we don't do a lot of gourmet cooking.

I am looking for decent appliances that will last- but not necessarily the best of the best. I am budget minded, but will pay for quality (I don't want something that will crap out in the near future).

Looking for stainless - or stainless like that still has a magnetic surface. Need to decide on side by side versus french door for fridge, probably counter depth.

Also doing gas stove, over the range microwave and dishwasher.

Any and all help / advice / recommendations greatly appreciated!

Comments (9)

• janjan212
    11 years ago

I'm a newbie too, so take this for what it's worth.

I couldn't do a french door fridge due to the placement of my island, and wanted counter depth. We ended up with a Samsung sxs. It was the nicest looking (IMO) with the best pricing for counter depth The only issue we have had was with the ice maker. It made a clunking sound but still made the ice fine. I only heard it in the morning hours when I was getting ready for work and never remembered to call about when there was time. My fault completely as far as not getting it looked at while it was under warranty. It isn't important to us so I just let it be.

I just ordered a bottom of the line Miele dishwasher, it was about the only brand I hear consistently good reviews on, but I wouldn't consider it budget. I also considered a display Viking DW that was discounted to 900.00 but was discouraged from it from fellow GW'ers. I was looking for a great dishwasher after years of lousy ones, so I went for what I felt would make me happiest in the end.