Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nolarenovator

Need everything for a new kitchen...

NolaRenovator
10 years ago

I am building a new house and would like to have a high functioning kitchen. While I'm not a professional chef, I enjoy cooking and PROPERLY FUNCTIONING APPLIANCES.

I’m looking for the following items:
--36” Rangetop with some 15k BTU burners (Considering BlueStar, Thermador, DCS)
--Dual Wall ovens with at least 1 convection (Considering Thermador, DCS, KA, Whirlpool)
--French door, bottom freezer refrigerator with internal filtered water dispenser; no door dispensary. (Considering Whirlpool Gold)
--Dishwasher that cleans dishes and dries them (considering Thermador, Bosch, Kenmore Elite; I’ve read FPaykel have high repair counts)
--Rangehood with external fan / output (considering Thermador, Vent A Hood, Blue Star)

On our secondary list are the following items (these may not make it in due to budget):
--Warming drawer
--Wine chiller
--Ice maker

One of my primary requirements is an oven that has an input device (knob or buttons) that allows me to set a desired temperature. Once I set the temperature, I want the oven to uniformly heat to that temperature in a reasonable amount of time (5-10 minutes?).

I had a KitchenAid dual convection wall oven that simply didn't get to the assigned temperature even after a control board replacement.

While this seems like a basic requirement for a wall oven, the comments on GW and the internet make this functionality seem about as popular as a unicorn.

I've had a regular appliance sales rep tell me DCS wall ovens are within 2-3 degrees F of their set temp. Anyone have experience with this?

I’ve looked at the Thermador promotion and it seems attractive given their dishwashers (I think) are made by Bosch (which is consistently highly rated).

I like the ideas of all burners going to 18k BTU as in the Thermador; but I’m also intrigued by the 22k BlueStar.