Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimsig

Induction questions

Kim
11 years ago

Just staring getting bids for our kitchen remodel. We are replacing all appliances , I know I want a induction cook top, the more I read the more confused I get! I am not a gourmet cook, just a average everyday cook. Do I really need a 36 inch, is there that much difference between it and a 30 inch one? I have lived with 4 coil burners my whole life! Our budget is modest, would like to stay around 2000 for the cooktop, please help me narrow my choices through the experiences of those already using one! Thanks soo much!

Comments (10)

• acgummad
    11 years ago

I haven't bought mine yet, but I'm getting the JA 36". Here are the features that sold me:

1) It's a Bosch, and I have had great luck with Bosch appliances in the past, though have not had their cooktops.

2) I'm an avid cook and need a 36". It's the difference between 4 and 5 hobs, generally speaking, for a 30 vs a 36 inch.

3) Love, love, love the hob configuration on the JA. Positioned and all sized well, AND the smaller hobs on both right and left sides have a bridge features that allows you to use a longer pan or griddle over both hobs to use as one. Very flexible and usable, indeed.

4) It looks beautiful. The Miele has a red tint to it I don't like, and you can see the coiling underneath the plate. The KA has a weird print on it. The Wolf - well, to me, they do ovens, I don't know what value they bring to the table to justify their price point for induction. The one I really wanted was the Thermador that is hob-less - the induction technology is totally different than the rest of them, and it allows you to set your pot anywhere on the cooktop, and it's auto-detected. That one, however, is $5K. Ouch.

5) Total electric control panel (yes, most have this), but also has timers for each hob, as well as a 'master off switch' that will shut the whole thing down at once, if need be. Not all of the other brands offer this.