Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fauguy

Two Miele issues (rack rust, and unit running long)

fauguy
10 years ago

So as most of the regulars know, I've been using a Miele Diamante Plus G2143SC for 3 years now (and purchased the $250 Miele 5 year warranty). Last week I went up to my local Miele showroom in FL and purchased the Salt and Rinse Aid, since I was out, and the refill LEDs were on.

I removed the bottom rack as normal to get to the water softener container. After I filled it with the salt, I went to place the bottom rack back, but as I had in on the floor, I noticed a few orange rust spots on the very bottom on the rack. I looked at it closely, and there were a few on the rack, and a couple on the removable inserts. I then looked at the center rack (where the glasses go) and noticed a few rust spots under it next to where the spray arm is. What's interesting is none of these rust spots could be cause by something scraping on it, as nothing touches in those areas. It looks like the gray coating that covers the metal racks started to ware-off and so it rusted the metal.

I called Miele last week, and they set it up to have a service tech come out this week to install new racks and check out the unit.