Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
portlandmaine

industry reps posing as appliance owners?

portlandmaine
11 years ago

Hello,

First I'd like to say I LOVE the garden web's forums. And I pose questions here from time to time. But my husband is much more cynical. I just recently posed a question regarding Liebherr refrigerators and he's all over me for any review that seems too positive. Or anyone that posts a lot. To give him credit, he's an expert in tech field with software development/design so he's pretty savvy to trends and behind the scenes in internet useage/traffic etc.

So I pose this question: Is Garden Web a pretty legit site for good ole honest homeowner opinion? Or are there a lot of industry people posing as homeowners or just blasting out great reviews about their particular product?

Comments (22)

• weissman
    11 years ago

It's pretty good - I've been hanging around for over 10 years since I remodeled my kitchen. There are a few vendors and repair people who are very upfront and very helpful. Occasionally we get people trying to sell something and some trolls but they're readily identifiable. Some homeowners are very passionate about their purchases and sometimes come across as industry types.

• deeageaux
    11 years ago

What are the marginal sales gains by posting a lot on GW?

Even for small companies I don't think it is very much.

They may post once or twice but usually betray themselves with way way over the top reviews.

The best sign of success for a consumer goods company is when your customers become advocates for the brand.

Look at Porche or Corvette or Viper owner boards. Do you think industry types are there night and day posting how great their cars are?

Appliancemagazine.com had a blurb about how Samsung was paying college kids in Taiwan to post positive reviews about their phones. Full time adult employees of appliance companies engaging in full time guerrilla marketing sounds a bit far fetched.

• jellytoast
    11 years ago