Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
homecookaustin

American Range killed my BlueStar Dreams

HomeCookAustin
10 years ago

When planning my remodel I had made a decision to buy a BlueStar 36" range. As things have moved along, we're finding ourselves over-budget. In the meantime American Range has introduced their Performer series, which seem to be comparable to BlueStar (similar star burners, etc).

With BlueStar I am looking at $6600 plus tax for at least $7100 if I buy locally.

With American Range, I can have one delivered to my door for $5249 from several different vendors.

That extra $1800 pays for a pretty nice vent hood.

I am not concerned about local servicing; I am a former contractor.

Should I make the switch?

Comments (17)

• jolb57
    10 years ago

You should recheck current pricing seem BS is running a sale.

• gtadross_gw
    10 years ago

Or check online sellers. I got my 36" bluestar RNB for less than your quoted price for the American.

• deeageaux
    10 years ago

Below is a ruby red BS with griddle for $4995 plus $195 shipping.

It is setup for propane but the conversion kit is less than $100 for natural gas but I would check with bluestar first if interested.

Here is a link that might be useful: LINK

• deeageaux
    10 years ago

Below is a 36" bluestar on auction current bid is $1775 plus $99 shipping.

Here is a link that might be useful: LINK

• gtadross_gw
    10 years ago

The only time I've seen bluestar selling for something in the $7000+ arena was when its a 48" range. For 36", bluestar brand new could be attained for around $5000. This is especially the case when you're buying other appliances and can leverage your buying power to get a break on the range or perhaps an across the board discount.

• willtv
    10 years ago

2 1/2 years ago, when we reno-ed our kitchen, we paid $5100 for a 36" RNB 6 burner in jet black. Signed, sealed, delivered. Including shipping & tax.