Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
applnut

Wolf Double Ovens: L or E Series? Or American Range?

applnut
10 years ago

We are replacing our current electric double oven and I'm 90% set on Wolf. I'm just not sure what to go with between the L and E series. Am I wrong or is the difference almost wholly cosmetic? I don't really care about the spinning electric control panel (just seems like something else that could break, actually), so is there ANYTHING else I won't be getting by going with the less expensive (by $1k) E series?

Oh and, when I said Wolf is 90%, it's cause I am DROOLING over the American Range french door double electrics, but am stuck on the lack of self-clean, a feature I do use regularly (or, at least, semi-regularly) with great success on our current ovens. I'm also worried about reliability, service, etc. with American Range, since I know SOOO much less about them than Wolf.

I am an avid cook and baker and use both my ovens a LOT, so this isn't a looks-only proposition.

Any and all advice and opinions on use, function and service are very, VERY much appreciated.

Comments (71)

• breezygirl
    10 years ago

My ovens are the L series.

There is no guarantee that the new M model won't have the same porcelain issues, but I think I'd try to find a way to wait until they come out to buy. Maybe buy a used or scratch/dent oven that wouldn't require any modifications on your current oven cutout and then sell it when the new Wolf is released.

Is the date of 2014 all you could find on the new model release? That's a might big time span. If its late 2014 and they have a release delay, which I would expect to happen, it could be late first quarter 2015 before they are ready for market. Gosh, that's a long time from now to live with something temporary....

• applnut
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I agree, Breezy (about the long time). The specs say Q1 (which means Jan-Apr) 2014 BUT, release dates are never set in stone.