Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
)15,000 BTU stove top - what else aside from Boiling water

Posted by roanjohn (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 19, 12 at 9:28

Sorry for the ignorant question as I am just learning how to cook - but aside from boiling water - what else can you do with a high BTU stove that cannot be done with a mid-level range.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: )15,000 BTU stove top - what else aside from Boiling water

This review of some high-BTU ranges does a great job of illustrating some of the things you can do with a powerful range that can't be done otherwise.

http://www.departures.com/articles/range-of-options

o

Well of course there's searing, wokking, deep frying, etc. but even lower heat applications need more power as you increase the quantity of food you're cooking. You don't need a screaming hot pan to cook breaded chicken cutlets, but you'll be turning up the heat a bunch if you're cooking a handful at a time in a large pan.

I'm thinking that most any "mid-level range" these days will have a power burner that's at least 15K. So to me the question more becomes how many high output burners you need at one time. I'd pay close attention to the size of that second-highest burner.

o

Funny that I don't think boiling water is one of my rangetop's strong points at all, as it seems to take forever, but like Foodonastump said, it is much better for stir frying, searing, etc. So fast at heat-up for those things, just not the water. ;)

o