Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roofstacker

Help with Induction Range

Roofstacker
12 years ago

Greetings,

I am a Semi-retired General Contractor & remodeling a kitchen for my wife.

She would like an Induction slide in range w/2 ovens.

Only one that fits the bill is Electrolux....but

It sure has some terrible reviews. Anyone with real life

experience with this unit? What is in your kitchen with

this criteria? Recommendations? Thanks!!!!!

Comments (11)

• chac_mool
    12 years ago

I have the Electrolux slide-in induction range, and have been happy with it for about 18 months now.

There are other models: GE has come out with a slide-in induction range, Samsung and Frigidaire (?) have one, Kenmore markets one (not sure who actually makes it), and Viking has one that costs roughly twice as much. There are threads here about these various induction ranges (search the box at the bottom of the page). Perhaps E'lux is the only one with two ovens; I'm not sure.

How people take to the E'lux range may depend on what they expect that second lower oven to do. People who want and expect to use it as a warming oven are fine with it; others who expect to bake stuff in the lower oven have been sorely disappointed. Induction is really cool, so I can't think of anything else to complain about, with this range. [I have a little Miele speed oven that I use probably more than either oven in the E'lux, so the limitations of the E'lux lower oven don't bother me as much.]

Can you give us more information about what your wife is looking for? Is there an option to put in a relatively smaller second oven (like the Miele or an Advantium), so the range doesn't have to carry the full load?

• weedmeister
    12 years ago

I don't believe that one is made.

I don't consider the drawer on the Elux to be an oven. Just a drawer with delusions of grandeur.

• chac_mool
    12 years ago