Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sivyaleah

I'm Beginning to Think Brand Just Doesn't Matter

Laurie
14 years ago

I'm about to embark on my second kitchen re-do in 10 years. This house, is a 1915 American Foursquare in the Craftsman style and will be a much different ballgame than the first because I get to pick everything myself this time, without limitation other than budget (last time I had a husband standing over me adding his two cents, this time an easy-going boyfriend who could care less as long as wonderful meals result from the rehab lol).

Anyway, I've been reading this forum and as far as appliances are concerned, I am now completely confused. I'm no novice when it comes to these things. I've been working in architecture for well over 20 years, and myself have helped design several kitchens. I know the pros and cons of many top brands but now that I'm about to pick it for myself I feel like my head is going to fly completely apart! Every time I make a decision I read another post that assures me that I have completely made the wrong decision and I'm back to square one with my research.

Here's the thing. Ideally I'd go for a Viking; wouldn't we all? However, financially it makes no sense for two reasons. A) I really can't afford it and B) the house was so inexpensive and in a neighborhood that makes no sense to even put a Viking into it. I just can't justify putting in an oven that costs like 4% of the house, and 25% of the budget of what I want to spend on the renovation of the kitchen (I intend to only spend $25,000 tops - the contractor is a friend of mine that I've known from business for many years and I'll be using his contacts for purchasing of cabinets/granite/tile/etc.)