Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katespak11

Viking Appliance Package

katespak11
10 years ago

I am new to Gardenweb.com, so please be kind if I am being redundant. We are buying a townhouse that is currently under construction. I am going to buy my own appliances as I am not interested in the builder package. Don't know if this is still true, but I understand that Viking gives the best prices to builders and we will be purchasing through the builder's sources. Currently Viking is offering "double warranty", meaning that they will double their 3 year warranty, full parts and labor, to 6 years. This covers all of their appliances if purchased together. I was skeptical and called Viking and it was confirmed. I am a former professional cook and cook all the time. I plan to buy the following:

30" gas range
Single 27" electric oven
Drawer microwave
30" under cabinet hood.
Dishwasher
36" counter depth refrigerator

I don't mind paying a little more for appliances that have full coverage for 6 years. Any insight that anyone has would be most appreciated. Has anyone purchased Viking recently and taken advantage of this promotion.

Comments (12)

• xedos
    10 years ago

You'll not find much love around here for "packages"

Unless things have changed , or your builder does high volume (both possible) their discount isn't any better than most lines.

At any rate - you'll over pay for the viking name on the micro drawer and fridge which are re badged units from other makers. You'll be over paying for the dishwasher compared to what you can get from the Euro manuf. for th same $$$.

Their range is pretty solid though burners are underpowered in my opinion. Broiler is great.

You can take or leave their ovens. Nothing special.

Re: the xtra warranty - big whooooop! Especially since I have to buy so much to to qualify. Other manufactures give you a "free" dishwasher.