Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
burnchar

GE PHS920SFSS review

burnchar
10 years ago

I ordered a "GE PHS920SFSS Profile 30" Stainless Steel Electric Slide-In Induction Range." I suspect this is nearly identical to the PHB920SFSS (freestanding) for most parts of this review.
I've had it for two months. Since I've found reviews on this website very useful, I thought I'd write my own to help others.

I am a software engineer and will approach the review from a slightly technical angle. I research things to death before buying, and came across many complaints about the various ranges I looked at so will focus on those rather than covering the basics:

Buzzing noise (common complaint about induction): On high heat, a noise similar to a power transformer is emitted. It sounds similar to my previous Magic Chef glasstop electric range, but somewhat louder and more persistent.
The noise isn't noticeable from other rooms, nor is it particularly annoying. My wife heard it but didn't "notice" it until I asked. Not an issue.

Temperature control:
A benefit of induction, like gas, is greater control over temperature. Glasstop ranges simulate "low" temperature by repeatedly running at full power for short periods of time, then turning off.
Unfortunately, the GE does the same thing up to temperature setting 5 1/2 of 10. I can hear it "click" on and off if I pay attention, "on" longer at higher settings.
In practice, this doesn't seem to vary the temperature. Using an infrared thermometer on a dirt-cheap T-Fal frying pan (which doesn't have the thickness or material to buffer temperature variation well), the temperature varied no more than the kitchen counter tiles, i.e., within the error of the thermometer.

Scratches (common complaint about cooktop):
We've dragged numerous pans over the surface, some heavy, like a full 12" Demeyere frying pan. No scratches. That said, I'm sure sand or dirt between the pan and cooktop would not end well.

OVEN:
---