Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alizarge

Stainless steel Kenmore gas ranges

alizarge
10 years ago

Hi, all,

I've been following every 30" gas range thread for a while, and now it's time to buy.

I really dislike electronic panels, but I'm a little queasy about some of the remarks around NXRs. I do want all-stainless for the look and ease of cleanup.

I found two Kenmores online. Curious if anyone has either of these:

http://www.kenmore.com/kenmore-30inch-freestanding-gas-range-w-convection-oven/p-02274343000P

http://www.kenmore.com/kenmore-30inch-gas-range-stainless-steel/p-02274043000P

At least the electronic panels on these are simple. One costs about $850, the other a little over $1,000.

I'd be willing to buy something for about $2,000, but the stoves I think are lovely (Smeg, Verona, Bertazzoni) all have ovens that are rather shallow, front to back, and I do bake on long sheets, often two side by side.

FWIW, I am a daily cook, have been for ~ 35 years. Always electric, and I'm tired of coils breaking because I use heavy iron pots.

Thanks in advance for any feedback on the Kenmores, or any other thoughts.

Cheers!

Comments (9)

• ardcp
    10 years ago

i am glad to see a post about a range that is more "normal" as i am looking for a similar range. i will be interested to see what others have to say. my guess is that they are whirlpool or frigidaire rebranded but it is hard to tell what models they may be.

• jwvideo
    10 years ago

First thing is that you very probably would have no defects with an NXR if you got one but they really are not for everybody. No more so than manual-transmission-with-low-range, 4-wheel-drive, manual-hub trucks are the vehicle everybody should drive.

Second, to find out from whom Sears sourced those two Kenmore gas stoves have a look at this link which tells you how to translate the model numbers to identify the manufacturer.

http://www.appliance411.com/purchase/sears.shtml