Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buyitjody

Cen-Tec power head brush stopped on Air-Way vacuum

buyitjody
12 years ago

I have a signature series (the purple one) Air-way canister vacuum with the Cen-Tec power head (model CT14DX). Today, the brush/beater bar stopped rotating. The unit powers on, but the head just doesn't rotate. Any ideas? I'm not a vacuum expert, so it could be something really simple (which I'm hoping I can fix myself). My Air-Way manual did not say how to take the Cen-Tec apart, so any help or a link would be appreciated in that aspect.

Comments (9)

• mojavean
    12 years ago

Number one thing for that symptom is the belt.

• buyitjody
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I'm usually fairly handy, but I can't seem to figure out how to take the Cen-Tec head apart to see if it is the belt. Can any body help?

• mojavean
    12 years ago

Okay, I don't have one of those things, but try pushing in the sides of the headlight cover to snap it out of the powerhead. Then you should see 2 Phillips head screws holding the upper and lower halves of the power head together. Remove them, separate the bottom from the top and put in the new belt. There may be clips or releases holding the top to the bottom also. Oftentimes you separate where the screws are and the powerhead opens up like a clamshell. Once the "shell" is open, you can pull them apart.

The belt will be easily visible and replaceable.

• geguymw
    12 years ago

jjgibson;