Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bosch DWs: normal versus auto load settings, rinse aid amount?

Posted by Derek87 (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 1, 12 at 16:41

i'm new to the world of Bosch and we'll be taking delivery on our Bosch 800 plus tomorrow (the lowest model 7ER). i see that it has two "regular" cleaning cycles: one labeled normal, the other labeled auto.

can any experienced users comment on using one versus the other. i know in principle what they mean, but is there any disadvantage to just using "auto"?

different topic: what's a good setting for the rinse aid if one is already using something like Powerballs which include a rinse aid, and their water is softened or soft? (we'll be using the water softener)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bosch DWs: normal versus auto load settings, rinse aid amount

I have the 500 series, but I don't think it functions any differently than the 800. I generally leave mine on Auto. I think if you read the manual it'll probably suggest the Auto setting for most washes and just let the machine do its job. Sometimes I'll override it for a quick wash.

For rinse aid, I leave it on 1. I started with 3 and then lowered it with successive washes. It has always dried well and my glasses come out clear, even at 1 so I leave it there.

o

I also have the 500...I often use the "auto plus" as I find it does a better job than the "normal" or "auto" setting. I think the regular auto and normal settings are a little too frugal with the water. Also auto plus sanatizes which I like.

o

thanks for the tips, jscout and tyguy! (not sure if the 800 plus has "auto plus" but i'll play around with the different options)

o

Also, check you user guide on how to set the water temp higher. If your model has it, setting the temp higher will help it in the drying process.

o