Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nyc_guy

Like Many, Overwhelmed as a First Timer

NYC-Guy
12 years ago

Hello everyone!

I'm in the same boat as few others on this forum. We're planning our first kitchen reno, so it's my first time buying major appliances. Once we knock down some walls, our kitchen will be approx. 10' x 10'.

Ideally I would like the same brand of fridge (counter depth), range (slide-in) and OTR microwave. If there is a compelling reason, I could go for different brands as long as the range and OTR microwave are the same (for aesthetics).

I'm currently planning for the following (mostly GE Profile) but am open to suggestions.

RANGE

GE Profile PGS968SEPSS (30" gas on glass)

http://products.geappliances.com/ApplProducts/Dispatcher?REQUEST=SpecPage&Sku=PGS968SEPSS

OR

GE Profile PGS908SEPSS (30" SS top)

http://products.geappliances.com/ApplProducts/Dispatcher?REQUEST=SpecPage&Sku=PGS908SEPSS

(the MSRP for the convection version is $300 more, but I've never used a convection oven)

FRIDGE

GE Profile PGCS1RKZSS (counter depth French door, with dual drawer bottom freezer and external ice/water)

http://products.geappliances.com/ApplProducts/Dispatcher?REQUEST=SpecPage&Sku=PGCS1RKZSS

OTR MICROWAVE

PNM1971SRSS (recirculating since we can't vent outside)

http://products.geappliances.com/ApplProducts/Dispatcher?REQUEST=SpecPage&Sku=PNM1971SRSS

Bosch 500 series custom panel dishwasher

http://www.bosch-home.com/us/products/built-in-dishwashers/custom-panel/SHV55R53UC.html

SHV55R53UC

Any strong feelings about my choices and/or should be considering something else.

We are also going to install a garbage disposal, which I know nothing about, brands, horsepower etc. What have I gotten myself into!

Comments (22)

• clarygrace
    12 years ago

You may want to take a look at the Kitchenaid suite of products, they are better rated than GE profile, from what I have read.