Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamie1s

Simmer Burners

Jamie
12 years ago

The wolf simmer is 500 BTUs. The Viking is 900.

I'm leaning toward Viking because I want to be able to use any burner for anything, (not have to put certain things on certain burners) and I don't need the ultra-super-hot settings.

But the simmer is really the most important thing. I need a nice low simmer for things like roux, but I don't know hot to translate it into BTUs.

The Viking customer service line told me about the paper plate and the chocolate chips, (chips melt, plate doesn't burn), but she didn't know how long it took to melt the chips, or how long before the plate would go up in flames. The demonstration sounds showy but not immediately useful, you know? I usually employ cookware.

I'd like to be able to walk away from a sauce and not worry about it. I've been using electric ranges and burning things for the past several years.

Any idea how I can measure this?

Thank you in advance.

Comments (24)

• weissman
    12 years ago

Can you find both ranges live and test them out? That would be the best way to figure it out. Are you talking about the Wolf AG or dual fuel. The duel fuel has dual stack sealed burner similar to the DCS that I have and it has an incredible simmer on all the burners - I've accidentally left things on for hours without anything boiling down or burning. The Wolf AG has a semi-open burner with a small simmer flame in the middle - I have no idea how it performs. Personally, I'd choose the Wolf over the Viking.

• Jamie
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Well, more info but no less confusion.

The viking is still 900 btus without further specification.
    The DCS low setting is 3000 btus PER HOUR. The DCS simmer is 140 degrees.

Can't seem to find any apples to compare. What are they hiding?

• weissman
    12 years ago