Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bblakeney

Need feedback on KOBE Range Hood

bblakeney
10 years ago

Hello! I'm looking at buying a KOBE range hood. The model I'm looking at is the:CH9136SQB-1 (36"). It's an under cabinet hood - 36", and can be viewed at this link:http://www.koberangehoods.com/product/CH-191SQB-1.html

I had never heard of KOBE before GW, but fell in love with the design. The features I'm attracted to: LED lights instead of halogens; dishwasher safe baffles instead of the mesh plates; low noise; a delayed shutoff setting; and the beautiful style!

I am a serious cook and my stove gets heavy use. My primary questions to those of you who have owned a KOBE are:
1) How well does it ventilate?
2) Any quality issues with the product (motors, buttons, etc.)?
3) Are the LED lights bright enough?
4) Easy to clean?
5) Is it reasonably quiet?
6) How long have you owned your KOBE?

Thank you so much in advance for your feedback!!!

Comments (24)

• jwvideo
    10 years ago

black88mx6 recently installed a 30" kobe (a bit different than the design you are looking at). It is used with a 30" NXR range and you can see a photo in the thread at this link.

http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/appl/msg1015220127829.html?35

Maybe you can contact black88mx6 or maybe he will chime in here with responses to your questions.

In 2009, friends of mine got a predecessor to the model you are looking.at. (I think it was rated for 700 cfm rather than the current 800 cfm) which they use over a 36" NXR. From what they told me last year, it ventilates well, they have not had quality issues, they think the LED lights are fine (but they do have a very well lit kitchen, anyway), and they find it easy to clean. At the lowest speed settings (which IIRC, is about 300 CFM) they say it is pretty quiet as range hoods go. They do a lot of entertaining and a lot of stir-frying.