Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
m4rtin

Over the range microwave enough ventilation ?

M4rtin
11 years ago

We're looking into buying Viking d3 appliance set for our new house. And since we have a small 8x10 kitchen we want to save as much countertop as we can. My wife thinks that we should get the over the range microwave/hood combo, that this way we will save space on counter from not having microvawe and a little oven.
I'm an amateur cook, just learning slowly currently on my parents glass cooktop range. I don't do any proffesional cooking but I wonder if the 300 cfm in the ovr microwave will be enough for simple stir frying and fish.

Here is a link that might be useful: Viking Microwave/Hood

Comments (42)

• realism
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Run a few google searches and you'll see that OTR microwaves are looked down upon here. They don't offer nearly as much ventilation as you need and do a very poor job. If you want to save space I'd look into a drawer style microwave.

While we're at it, I'd seriously reconsider your appliance choices in general. Buying appliance sets is generally not the best way to go as no appliance maker does everything well. This is especially true for Viking as they have had quality control issues in the past.

Also given you're lack of cooking experience (just learning to cook and still living with your parents) I'd reconsider whether a high end brand like Viking is right for you. I'm not sure whether the added features of a high end range is worth the price tag for your skill set and it might be worth it to spend your money elsewhere. Then again, its your money not mine.

• User
    11 years ago

Buying a high end range and putting an OTR over it is like buying a Ferrari and putting tractor tires on it. Technically, they'll do the job. Realistically, they ruin the whole experience.

• realism
    11 years ago