Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desertdance

9x13 inch induction friendly pans?

So I have the induction with the bridge. It's all good! My new induction cookware works great. So, I take a cake pan to slow bake some ribs. There is stuff in there for gravy.

With the old gas stove, no problem. Stick that baby over two burners, stir, and I got gravy!

Not the induction. It doesn't recognize the 9 x 13. NOT ONE SET OF INDUCTION COOKWARE INCLUDES THIS PAN!!!!

So, how do we deglaze the pan and make gravy?

Life has seriously changed!

Suzi

Comments (6)

• jwvideo
    10 years ago

I have no experience with small roasting pans other than pyrex 9x13 which, obviously, are not for deglazing on induction, but the topic has come up from time to time.

Seems to me that somewhere last year I saw something about Viking having a smaller, induction capable roaster in its line of cookware. However, I think I've also seen something recently about Middelby (the new owner) having decided to cancel the Viking cookware brand. Might try Amazon to see if any are left.

Also, it seems to me that All Clad used to have an induction capable roasting pan but they called it a "lasagna pan."

If you can go a little larger than 9x13, there may be more choices.

I remember a number of these discussions over on Chowhound. Here are some links to discussionsthat may help lead you to other possible candidates:

http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/879855

http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/819169

Also think there was s dicussion here on this subject about five years ago, but can't find it with the search engine. Maybe it was in the Kitchen form?

• kailuamom
    10 years ago

Would induction disks under the pan work? I've heard of some folks using these with specialty cookware. (Not that your pan is a specialty item, but it's not a cooktop item either).

• herring_maven
    10 years ago