Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's the problem with the Bosch DW racks?

Posted by Hilltop55 (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 25, 12 at 21:06

I've seen several negative remarks about the Bosch dishwasher racks. Can someone tell me what the problem is?

I have a 16 year old Bosch that has performed very well and I was planning to get one for my new home. This question about the rack has me wondering what to look for as I compare Bosch with others before I buy.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's the problem with the Bosch DW racks?

I was just poking around the appliance store yesterday, and looked specifically at the Bosch racks because of GW comments about sturdiness. I thought they would be all plastic, but, except for the top silverware tray, they seem to be metal coated in nylon or plastic. Talking about the Made in Germany models. Didn't look at the others. I have no personal experience with them because I am in the DW shopping stage right now.

The Miele racks are supposed to be very sturdy, but the racks on the floor model I looked at -Futura crystal- kept getting stuck and wouldn't roll out properly. That is probably an installation issue, and not a manufacturing defect.

o

FWIW, I think my mom hates her Bosch DW in gen'l, but I know she really hates the racks. I think how/where she can stack dishes in it, and the resulting lack of capacity is the biggest drawback for her. Not sure how the cleaning is but I can ask her. I do know they got it at Sears a couple of years ago, and it is not one of their top models.

o