Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarschlos_remodeler

Please Tell Me About The FiveStar 48' Range

I am looking for constructive information about the Five Star range. I love the features and choices (colors; larger electric and smaller gas ovens; griddle; 21,000 btu burners; open or sealed burner options). I can't figure out why no one raves about this range on the forum. The price is great, particularly for a DF. What am I missing?

I'm really looking for information. I've read the prior threads where someone called it a "Kia" without giving any reason for the mud slinging. If you've used this range and think it's junk, please tell me WHY. If you love this range, I'd like to hear about that, too. TIA!

Comments (7)

• dude1
    16 years ago

Okay, not apples to apples, but I'll share what I saw at a local "closeout/scratch and dent/over-run store" on a 30" range. I've no experience actually using the unit, so take what I say with the proper grain of salt.

The unit I saw was open burners@ 15,000 btu, no convection, 120v.

Remember, this is a closeout store.

Knobs were not secure, loose, plastic, ready to fall off.
    Backguard attached with sheetmetal screws, evident, 3/4 of the screw facing front. Bottom drawer a bit finicky. Have to pull up just right to close easily. No drip pan. Dis-assembly of the top fairly simple, but lots of nooks and cranies that would be a pain to access.

On the other hand, lack of electronics means if I can't fix it, a buddy of mine that does appliance repair can. For 900.00 it's attractive. I really can't afford the close to 4,000.00 my ideal Bluestar would cost. I could see it as a work in progress. I could adapt knobs, re-do the backguard, re-engineer the latch of the bottom drawer.

Can not add a drip pan under the top burners. Could minimize cleaning with creative tinfoil application.

My opinion, worth exactly what you payed for it, is a question. How much are you willing to compromise?

At least that's the question I ask.