Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whitneymac_gw

Blue Star, Viking, Wolf, Lacornue, Lacanche, too many options!

whitneymac
16 years ago

I'm overwhelmed, and I haven't even started getting prices! I'm looking for a range with double ovens - anywhere from 48 to 60" wide is fine on this new construction. The range will be a major kitchen focal point. I'm a pretty good cook when I don't have small children underfoot. I'd like at least 4 burners with the option for a grill and/or griddle.

Does anyone have an approximate price and reputation comparison that can help me figure out where to start?

Comments (13)

• alexrander
    16 years ago

Figure out whether you want all gas (AG), or gas top and electric ovens (Dual Fuel). The French ranges look completely different and will be the most beautiful and expensive. Lacanche is well liked on this forum. La Cornue is the most expensive (except for one model-'La Cornuefe' that is about the price of the Lacanche.

AGA has an interesting cast-iron range. The have their own traditional style that is always on with covered burners and they sell the more conventional style that you turn on when you're ready to cook.

The better American made ranges are usually allStainless (although some are offered in colors-Viking,American(yes, that's a brand), and Bluestar.

The better brands are Bluestar, Wolf, American, Capital,DCS.
    It can be debated as to which is better for various features.

Wolf offers Dual Fuel,or AG - also have stacked burners to get a low simmer, probably the most loved brand, offers sealed or semi-sealed burners- lately some problems with AG -they also have a black metal top (like Viking) that is harder to keep clean.

Bluestar has the best top burners,(these are 'open' to a drip tray that sits below) and colors and Brass accents, but on occasion has a ignitor problem.