Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paulskor

Wolf AG or GE Cafe

paulskor
12 years ago

Hi all. What a wonderful resource this is! I am deciding between a 30" wolf ag range and the ge cafe df. I cannot find any direct comparisons, and am frankly not that knowledgable. I am an amateur cook, but love e look and feel of the wolf. The cafe line also seems nice, and that value question that nobody can truly help with is what I am seeking, the upfront costs of the wolf I have come to terms with, but it seems like repair costs and reliability are major issues. Is there a marked difference between wolf and ge in terms of reliability/repair costs? I absolutely love the simplicity of the ag, and feel like there is less to go wrong..maybe not. The only other concern I have is that whereas I don't bake much, my wife does. We're young and have only lived with lesser quality stoves, and things turn out great when she bakes. Would we notice a big difference in baking quality between the two? Thanks so much everyone,

Comments (11)

• paulskor
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Gary,

No I don't anticipate that need. I am a pretty basic cook, but do a lot of roasts, some delicate sauces, etc. I have narrowed it down to the two aforementioned products. Thank you though.

• mojavean
    12 years ago

The two ranges you have narrowed it down to are simply not in the same league. The Wolf is around $2500 more, twice the price, IOW. It will have much higher quality, well, everything -- from the burners to the oven, racks, grates, etc. So what does this mean in practical terms? On the stovetop, not too much: both will get the water boiling fine. The oven on the Wolf I would expect to bake more evenly with less of a tendency to "hot spot," though it may take a little longer to get up to temperature than the GE Dual. The infrared broiler on the Wolf will probably perform better than the electric broil element on the GE.