Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vintiquities

My "New" Vintage Stove...brand?

Vintiquities
11 years ago

Hey all, this is my first time posting to the forums. I have been reading through the vintage stove posts for the last few weeks in preparation for getting my "new" vintage stove. It was delivered yesterday. A gal that lives about an hour from me gave me this stove and I'm ecstatic! Now I've been doing a little research on the web but I haven't found this exact stove and I'm kinda new to the vintage stove crowd.
So can anyone tell me what kind of stove this is? the oven knob says Robertshaw, but there is a red and silver crest emblem on the door with the letters MW that kind of resembles the Wedgewood logo with a wide crown on top. (Montgomery Ward?) So I'm kinda confused. Any thoughts?
Also what kinds of things should I have checked out right off the bat, or rather what kinds of things can I check for myself as far as repair.
I was told that it was working when last used but hasn't been used in many years, in fact has been unhooked and sitting in a tourist lodge as decor. So if anyone experienced out there could give me some starting pointers, on repair, cleaning, what to look out for. I would be grateful for any advice. I really want to use this stove. :)
I kind of kicked around on antiquestoves.com and a few other sites but they are a little confusing to me and I don't want to spend money on a guide when I'm not even sure what I have yet. :)
I will post a pic of the logo emblem in the next message.

Comments (12)

• Vintiquities
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The crest on the front storage door on left.

• bayareafrancy
    11 years ago

Yep: Montgomery Ward.

She's adorable!

• Fori
    11 years ago

Nice!

I think Robert Shaw made thermostats or knobs or something stovey. A parts company. Monkey Wards huh? Are those lightning bolts?

• Vintiquities
    Original Author
    11 years ago