Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oakrunfarm

Viking, Sub-Zero, et al. Really better or just snob appeal?

oakrunfarm
17 years ago

I'm not trying to start a fuss here, but we are building a new home, and I am trying to decide what brand(s) of appliances to buy. I'm new to this whole process.

Our builder took us on a tour of some of his finished homes, and frankly, some of the appliances scared me.

I guess I am having a hard time understanding why the average family would outfit their home with a kitchen that looks like it came directly out of a high-volume restaurant.

Now, I do think that the shiny stainless steel items are attractive, but when I got home and got online and started researching the different brands, I found that almost without exception, the high-priced brands were also the ones that were consistently ranked as the least dependable.

My builder confirmed this for me saying that most of the people who choose those appliances do so because they have "Parade Homes" that they get a reduction in the cost of building on in exchange for letting their home be used.

I would prefer to be able to COOK on my Viking cooktop, as opposed to just LOOK at it while I wait for my repair man.

I realize that some may choose these $$$ appliances for their performance, but WHAT makes them better performance-wise than some of the less-expensive Pro lines, like Kenmore's, etc?

Thanks so much!

Comments (65)

• thirtyall
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago