Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ulla01_gw

Help in identifying style/year of old Armoirs

ulla01
11 years ago

Hello

I am looking for some help in identifying where this furniture originated. It looks spanish or mexican? It has been in my family for 30 years and were told at that time that it was mexican antique. Any help is very much appreciated. I try to upload more pictures.

Thanks again

Comments (15)

• ulla01
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Additional photo

• ulla01
    Original Author
    11 years ago

additional picture

• ulla01
    Original Author
    11 years ago

additional photo - we have 2 cabinets & 1 table that came as a set.

• patty_cakes
    11 years ago

I would have to say Spanish, but i'm no expert. ;o)

• lazy_gardens
    11 years ago

Very typical of modern Mexican "rustic" furniture. I doubt it's antique, and I doubt it's more than 31 years old.

Do you have a picture of the inside of the piece, the hinges, and the inside of one of the doors?

• ulla01
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi lazygardens...thanks for your reply & input. I attached additional pictures of hinges and door.
    I really thought the pieces were older. We got them about 30 years ago & they already looked 'old'. Thanks again for your help.

• ulla01
    Original Author
    11 years ago

inside picture

• lindac
    11 years ago

People often make the mistake of confusing "crudely hand made" with really old.
    There are many very fine, refined, precisely made pieces of antique furniture dating for, 1750....and there are also many roughly hand made things made 30 to 50 years ago.
    The hinges on your piece are modern. Not to say they couldn't be replacements, but I think Lazy is right about the age.

• texasredhead
    11 years ago

There are shops in the Dallas area that import furniture and large outdoor lighting and pottery from Mexico. Much of the furniture could be classified as rustic. Perhaps that is the charm of this furniture.

• ulla01