Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pacnwgrdngirl

Old 40's Bed Frame - Want to Black Distress Finish (pic)

pacnwgrdngirl
16 years ago

Hi there! I scored an awesome old bed frame and rails at the local Elks rummage sale. (Is it 30's 40's?) The bed is solid and in excellent condition. The finish.... Terrible. Have already started sanding rough areas. I would like to make it a distressed black finish. With the brown showing through. I have some experience with re-finishing etc. I am an antiques-a-holic. I've rescued some pretty scary pieces and given them new life. What do you suggest?

Comments (9)

• lindac
    16 years ago

I my opinion that's way too nice to paint black and distress.....
    Your picture looks like a beautiful piece of cherry or maple, in a sort of art nouveau style....perhaps even earlier that 1900.
    Linda C

• calliope
    16 years ago

I agree with Linda. I would not paint this piece. It's older than forties (although I could believe late as 30s but could definately be older) and like she said, the wood is nice.

• pacnwgrdngirl
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I'm all for natural wood! I would love this to be restored, but it is really in bad shape. The top where the decorative piece is came off on each side. I had to sand the area that it came off. There is a lot of veneer that is loose that I puttied and sanded smooth. Some of the veneer is actually gone. Just sanded smooth in those areas. The picture looks a lot better than it really is. In my opinion, there's no hope for it to be left in it's original finish. I would never do something like this to a piece I thought I could save. You really think it is that old?

• Stocky
    16 years ago

It's a great bed, do not paint it black ! (that's just my opinion)