Return to the Antiques & Collectibles Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What is this? It looks like a miniature water tower

Posted by pilot172m (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 1, 08 at 20:29

Does anyone know what this is? It looks like a miniature water tower. It is about 3 ft tall, on 3 legs, has a lid, and the logo "Jamesway" stamped on it. It is metal and the words "use distillate no. 1 furnace oil" is written on the side. I'm trying to figure out how to put a picture on this forum..sorry, I'm new at this

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What is this? It looks like a miniature water tower

Go to photobucket and follow their instructions for storing and sending pictures.....you really NEED to include a pic of this duzzy! I can hardly wait to see what it looks like!

o

Hi pilot172m,

See Posting pics

Before #1 on the instructions, you will need to first open a Photobucket (Free) account and upload your pics there.

There are numerous others places to upload them to also, but I use Photobucket.

Sue

o
water tower pics (Ihope!)

Photobucket

I hope this picture works. Thanks for your help!

o

I'm guessing it's a gravity-feed fuel reservoir for some device that burned "no. 1 furnace oil".
Casey

o

Or perhaps part of a gravity feed milk separator.

o

I agree with Casey--a milk separator wouldn't have the imprint about the fuel on it. Jamesway is a well-known farm equipment manufacturer.

Annie

o

Yep, I've seen the old Jamesway chicken brooders, and I think they're still in business. Is that a threaded spigot on the underside? If it is, it would point even more strongly toward a fuel resevoir. Does it have 'guts' or is it empty inside?

o

Duh....I didn't read that it says to "use distillate #1 furnace oil"...
LOL! Likely NOT a milk separator!!
Linda C

o