Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quirkpod

pair of Victorian portraits abt. 1890, ornate frames 20x30

Lavoie Boho
14 years ago

I found these and am going to sell them. The couple are in late teens and very attractive, fair haired, with sweet, delicate features. Anyone would want to adopt them as "family". What is your estimate as to their financial value? I have an antiques dealer coming next week. I told him I would accept any reasonable offer.

Comments (7)

• lindac
    14 years ago

Can't tell a thing without a picture.
    Are these oils? Water color? Photographs? Photo reproductions? Oval frames? wood frames? Plaster?
    Did you really expect a dollar figure with that amount of information?

• PRO
    Lavoie Boho
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you, but I do not know the medium, as I am not a proficient professional in appraising antiques. I am absolutely dependant on this forum for advice. The portraits I describe appear to be photographs on canvas, and they are bleeding thru the back of the canvas... now that you ask. Does that help? I have a local dealer who is coming this week to see them, very interested, since the frames are almost in perfect condition. Who knows what the frames are made of, but they are rectangular. Only a pro will know upon inspection. Please try to tolerate novices here. This is what the forums are all about.

• lindac
    14 years ago

Pictures help a lot,
    It is literally impossible to give any sort of estimate of value or identification of any sort without knowing lots more...
    The questions I asked above plus a few more like size style of dress, gold leaf frames? Gesso? carved wood.
    Rectangular and ornate is not a description.

• moonshadow
    14 years ago

Well, rectangular and ornate means something, so it's descriptive to a degree. As is the year, abt 1890, and ample size, 20x30. That's a start!