Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cathyscache

Help w/Large oval silver tray

cathyscache
14 years ago

HI, I usually am on the mosaics & stained glass as I am a mosaic artist. recently aquired a very large 26" x 20' "Sheffield" oval silver plate ( I believe over copper) tray. It has very ornante feet and has some slight wear. It is the largest tray I've ever seen. It has marks on the back ,2 on either side of the Sheffield stamp and the # 2831 stamped on it. Can anyone here tell me anything about this tray. I kinda planned to mosaic it but have been I should not. HELP please!!! Thanks much, Cathy

Here is a link that might be useful: Large oval tray

Comments (14)

• lindac
    14 years ago

I think it's too nice to cover up with stone chips and grout.....find a tray that has no decorative value as it is.
    I don't see the mark nor the wear....but it looks very nice to me....and very big and heavy....I can't imagine what it would weigh covered with stones and grout!
    About the tray? From what I can see, it's likely electro plated over copper, meant to hold a silver coffee service. Depending on the amount of ware, easily EASILY could sell for $100.
    Linda C

• cathyscache
    Original Author
    14 years ago

LINDAC: Thanks for the info. I'm sorry I forgto to add the stamp pics...here they are

Here is a link that might be useful: #'s and stamp marks

• moonshadow
    14 years ago

Even if I zoom in I can't make out the details of the marks well. Do they look like any of the ones on this Sheffield marks + date chart? (scroll down a bit)

I also agree it's far too pretty and substantial to do mosaic on. (I've always wanted to try that, btw!) If it's the shape that appeals to you, there are plenty of inexpensive vintage aluminum trays kicking around antique malls. There are some pretty large ones in various shapes. I have one that is huge that holds my pewter tea set with room to spare.

• lindac
    14 years ago