Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
norar_il

Refinishing

norar_il
13 years ago

What exactly is refinishing? Is cleaning with lacquer thinner and denatured alcohol considered refinishing? That cleans up the old black, cracked finish or evens out the finish, but does not add anything. It just involves steel wool, the liquid and a rag to wipe off the excess. I see furniture on the antique shows with lovely finishes and wonder how that can be without anything done to them since all the really old stuff we've had has the bumpy black surface.

I used that to work on an old Seth Thomas wall clock, dated Jan. 8, 1909 (the purchase sticker is in the clock), and it looks lovely. An antique dealer thought it looked too new. Did it affect the value? Not that I care since it's staying in the family as long as I'm around, and longer judging from my children's wanting it, but I'm curious.

Comments (14)

• Stocky
    13 years ago

I'm a furniture refinisher by trade . My answer is my opinion.
    Refinshing involves removing the old finish with some sort of solvent . Generally this solvent is some sort of methelene chloride ( nail polish remover ) . Repairing the piece , sanding the piece back to the raw wood , applying a new stain and then a new finish.

Restoring involves using the existing viable finish , often cleaning it with mineral spirits and applying a new layer of finish.

"cleaning with lacquer thinner" is not cleaning since the lacquer thinner will eat into your finish. You're just smearing around the old finish .

The nice stuff you see on the Roadshow is just that . Quality furniture chosen to be shown because it has been cared for all these years.

• sombreuil_mongrel
    13 years ago

I restore old organs, and sometimes it requires a complete stripping of a bad or ruined finish, but I prefer to keep an original finish if possible. If not, I try to recreate the original appearance by avoiding inappropriate stain colors of finishes.