Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
new2this_gw

Are these antique chairs ?

new2this
9 years ago

Hi lady's and gents I'm new to the antique game and would love some feedback on my recent purchase. I didn't purchase these as antiques or anything but after I bought them from a yard sale I got to thinking the chairs might be antiques since they have hand carved designs on the back rests. I purchased the table and chairs as a set but I don't believe the chairs go with the table since the designs don't match each other. The table is branded as "Henredon fine furniture" and the chairs have no marks that I can find. Thanks for any help.

Comments (31)

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

chair pics will be added now...

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

more pics

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

hand carved back rest

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

back rest

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

back of arm chair

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

chair back

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

hand carved details

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

underneath the bottom of the chair under the lining. maybe its been reupholstered at some point ???

• chibimimi
    9 years ago

I don't think these are antique, although they could be nice vintage pieces. The proportions and lack of other detail argue against their being extremely old.

Could you give us a shot of the construction where the leg meets the seat?

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The bottom mainly has slot head screws and appear old but the screws holding the seats on from the bottom are new and shiny looking and don't match the patina of the screws in the braces. Glue is also used. Some have Philips head screws that dont match any other screws, maybe have been repaired at some point.

• new2this
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Shiny screw don't match patina of other screws

• new2this