Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alhsogc

Need info on tea sets...can you help?

ALHSOGC
12 years ago

Hey all-

I'm a noob here. I teach chemistry and last year started an organic gardening club at my school so I thought this site would come in handy. I do have a non-gardening question for you today though.

I bought two tea sets yesterday at an auction and multiple searches on google haven't turned up much info other than about the markings. I am going to let the photos speak for themselves. I would appreciate any and all info you can give me. I don't know much about tea sets so I appreciate any specifics or detail you can give.

I look forward to your replies.

Warmest Regards...

From August 28, 2011
From August 28, 2011

Comments (18)

• lindac
    12 years ago

the pictures are small and can't be enlarged....and seeing the markings would help.
    From the limited view I have of the first it looks like geisha ware....the second perhaps Czech??
    Better pictures would get you more info.

• ALHSOGC
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the heads up. I didn't realize it wasn't allowing for enlargements. Maybe this will help:

From
    From

Thanks again and I look forward to the responses...

Warmest Regards

• lindac
    12 years ago

Both have the mark for "Nippon" used in the first half of the 20th century....top one ie Geisha ware and the bottom is..1000 face? or maybe it's hundred face.....LOL! maybe million face! Same approximate period.
    Linda C

Here is a link that might be useful: Geisha ware

• ALHSOGC
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Fantastic! I loved the patterns on them esp. the '1000 face.' I appreciate your info. Are these types fairly common? I guess that just because I thought they were unusual doesn't mean that they are...

Thanks again for your help. If anyone else wants to chime in please do!

Warmest Regards

Jason

• lazy_gardens
    12 years ago

Jason -
    It was a very popular import china.