Return to the Antiques & Collectibles Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
old jar

Posted by norar_il (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 29, 10 at 11:52

This is my first attempt to upload a photo onto this forum, so please be patient with me.

I have an old Mason's jar, clear blue, stands a tad over 9 1/2 inches tall (maybe a 1/2 gallon size?) and has a patent date on it. It has seams and bubbles in the glass.

My questions are: Is the jar as old as the date on it? If not, about how old would it be? Does it have any value other than a neat looking vase for large flowers?
Nora

Here is a link that might be useful: old jar

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: old jar again

Well, that didn't work! Trying again.

Here is a link that might be useful: old jar

o
RE: old jar

The date on your jar is when Mason patented his invention of the canning jar. Below is a link to wikipedia's Mason jar page- lots of interesting info, but keep in mind that it is Wikipedia, and subject to any info someone wants to post. (Not always accurate...) Your jar looks pretty old. Your pic doesn't show the jar opening. Does it have a channel for wax to seal the lid? If so, it would be an older model.

Here is a link that might be useful: mason jars

o

No channel. It's for a screw top, but there is only one twist round. Thanks for the info. I'm like you seem to be -- pretty wary of Wikipedia.

o

There are many ways to date an old mason jar...by the seams, the top, if it's ground or polished, the style of lettering, just to name a few.
Somewhere on the WWW is a site that gives very detailed info...but unfortunatly I can't find it again!
This is a start though.

Here is a link that might be useful: old Mason Jars.

o

Here is another link that might be helpful. You can even contact this guy to get more specific information.

Here is a link that might be useful: another site

o
found it..

The site I was looking for.

Here is a link that might be useful: Dating fruit jars

o