Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
forestwench

Baker Furniture Mahogany Breakfront

forestwench
13 years ago

First - I have no knowledge of antiques and this would be my first refinish job. onward...

Someone gave me this piece of furniture. It has been painted, many times and after much debate, I decided I didn't have the time to refinish it and decided to sell it on CR ( in fact, it's on there now), splitting whatever profit with the person who gave it to me.

I did scrape off some paint and found a chinois gold scroll paint job over the mahogany factory finish. It does have the Baker Furniture metal tag inside.

I did some web searching and came up with the link below

This is the cabinet. Now I am thinking this might be something to keep, rather then sell quickly. Not because of the price - mine has solid wood shelves and I am not sure what condition the mahogany is in, but because it is a handsome piece in it's original condition.

So my question to whomever is still with me...is it worth refinishing?

Also - does anyone know of any site or book that would show past Baker lines and the options they came in? I did email the company, but I don't know whether to have much faith in that.

I contacted a local antique dealer and they were not interested, so I guess I would need a furniture expert.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is a link that might be useful: Baker Mahogany Cabinet

Comments (8)

• someone2010
    13 years ago