Return to the Antiques & Collectibles Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Flatware/silverware ???'s

Posted by nosnowtn (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 12, 11 at 12:46

Long time lurker, first time poster to this forum. I know several of you are knowledgeable about silver.

This is a set of six adult place settings and one child's place setting, knife and fork only, no spoons. They are marked "International L F & C."

These came from my great grandparent's estate from around 1860-???. We inherited them from a great aunt who was born in 1890 and died a spinster.

The blades and tines do not clean up well like silver, but the handles are made of a dark hardwood i.e. walnut, cherry or something else. No grain is visible. The metaling throughout the handle almost appears to be coin or german silver.

Any information as to age or value would be appreciated. Due to space constraints, I am going to sell these on ebay,
so any info would be greatly appreciated.

Also, it's my first time posting pictures, so please bear with me. I can provide some better closeups of the handles if neccesary.

TIA,
Joan

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Flatware/silverware ???'s

Landers, Frary, & Clark made cuttlery sets with stag horn, pearl handles, maybe ebony also which is what yours appear to be. see link

Here is a link that might be useful: L, F, & C

o
RE: Flatware/silverware ???'s

Thanks for your input sam. I had already found out that much info in my research.
I also found that L. F. & C made some beautiful filigree silver handles that look quite expensive.