Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clarkjd

@ calliope davis sewing machine

clarkjd
11 years ago

i just got you all mixed up....i think i have been talking to you all the time...lol sorry bout that

Comments (2)

• calliope
    11 years ago

That's OK. I just didn't want to be presumptive. I'm a novice compared to Annie, and I'd feel more comfy with her input, but I worked so hard to track down my machine, I just thought if there was some way to help, I'd try.

The info that Ohio Farmer was a Davis, came from the forum Needlebar.com. But I wanted to confirm that. I started looking up pictures of antique Davis machines and hit on some with the duplicate body style and finally found one close enough to get exact decal matches. It's not all a bunch of curly-ques and even though a lot of decals are copied, most are pretty specific for machines and eras and can be a good clue in identifying them. You can't always depend on a cabinet to give you positive identification to a maker, because with treadles, many are interchangeable from one maker to another and you can have a National put into a singer cabinet somewhere down the line. But finding a probable maker's machine in the appropriate cabinet is a pretty good indication it's authentic to the original purchase.

Your machine is in better condition than mine. I use mine and have for thirty years and it has been rode hard and put away wet. I would say yours is a vintage about the same era as mine. Our serial numbers are not far apart....another good indicator we have the same manufacturer.

If you do have a Davis machine, and I think you do, it's a good machine. It is not their vertical feed model (one of their best and their signature model) but they did make standard feeds as well as walking feeds, and if you just Google them, it can give you the impression that's all they made.