Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jlc712_gw

My favorite antique piece

jlc712
13 years ago

This blanket chest is another hand-me-down from my MIL. She thinks it is Italian from the 1600's. She acquired it from a house they bought on the east end of Long Island.

It is made from huge slabs of wood, and everything is hand carved. The back is one long piece of raw unfinished wood. The carvings of dragons, the family crest in the center, and the cherubs on each end are gorgeous. I think the hinges have been replaced, because you can see the outline of the old long narrow hinge straps. It is full of wormholes and the feet and bottom trim are pretty battered.

I have tried to research the family crest with no luck. It has a cross on the right side, and three crescent moons on the left side.

I would love to learn more about this piece!!! I am a terrible photographer, but here are some pics (please note the decorative Matchbox car underneath the chest. Oops):

Thanks,

Jen

Comments (11)

• sheesh
    13 years ago

How fabulous! It must weigh a ton.

• Fori
    13 years ago

LOve those navels! Is it a cassone?

• sunnyca_gw
    13 years ago

What does the inside look like, divided or just 1 space?

• jlc712
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Yes, it is heavy :)

And yeah, aren't those some strange looking navels on the cherubs? When my little boy was crawling, he would crawl over to the cherubs, pull himself up, and kiss them. So funny!

When I tried to research in the past, I did see the term cassone. Still not sure if that is correct!

The inside is not divided at all.

Thanks,
    Jen

• lindac
    13 years ago

Well the word "cassone" is just a term for what in another country might be called a dower chest.
    Not sure it matters at all what you call it...it's a chest....trunk...big box on legs! LOL!
    Those cherubs on the corners ought to be a clue as to country....but I don't know which one! Looks like oak to me.