Return to the Antiques & Collectibles Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help identifying these items

Posted by aadb (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 24, 10 at 16:40

Hi I am a newbie to this forum and have just started buying older/antique furniture. I have a few items that I have no idea about age/value, though I am not really concerned about the value. I have lurked on these forums for awhile and finally decided to join. I would really appreciate any help you guys could offer with these pieces.

The first one is an old hinged box that my grandmother had owned since atleast the mid 1960s. I have had it for the last few years. It has no markings and from the construction does not look like it is much older. It still has a store tag for 199.95, but she is such a bargain shopper I suspect she probably got it at a yard sale. It appears to be sculpted brass(?) on the outside wrapped around a wooden frame. The wood is unfinished and darker naturally. I have tried to look for something similar but haven't seen anything. Here are some pics

The front:
Photobucket

The top:
Photobucket

The bottom:
Photobucket

The back:
Photobucket

The inside:
Photobucket

Outer hinge:
Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help identifying these items

The next item is a brass cup or water ladle with a long handle. I found this in a cart of junk at the GW. It only cost me a dollar so it won't hurt my feelings if it is nothing. It has some markings that I have also taken picture of:
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

o

Don't know about the box. The cup thing looks Turkish, like a coffee pot.

Here is a link that might be useful: Turkish Coffee

o

One of the flat decorations on the box appears to be embosed copper sheet.