Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bmrgrl_gw

What do you think this is worth?

bmrgrl
14 years ago

Hi everyone, I am a long time lurker and this is my first time posting and am looking for some advise. I am looking to buy this antique sideboard but am unsure of what I should pay for it. The owner is taking offers and told me it was her grandmother's. She also told me that she thinks it is from the 1920's. I love antiques but don't know too much about their value, so if you can weigh in with thoughts that would be appreciated. Thanks

Comments (10)

• bmrgrl
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Sorry but I can't seem to post a picture, any help? please

• bmrgrl
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Alright, I joined photobucket and added it, let's see if it works

Here is a link that might be useful:

• Fori
    14 years ago

I know nothing about pricing these things, but I suspect it's worth very little since it'd take a huge amount of effort to make it presentable. Looks like the finish is gone. It might be worth the time to fix up because it was a really good looking piece, but I sure wouldn't pay much for it like that (unless there's more to it than I can tell from the picture!).

Is it as rough in person as it looks in the photo?

• lindac
    14 years ago

what it's worth depends on the condition....and it's hard to tell under all that dirt and dust if the top is in good shape or would have to be refinished or even worse. re veneered.
    If it's in good shape and would only been a little sprucing up to be good, I would think that $250 is not too much...if it has pieces of veneer missing, I wouldn't pay more than $25...if that, and plan on painting it...if it needs a completely new finish...maybe $100.
    Remember....you are buying wholesale from the owner....he/she shouldn't expect to get what she might get from a shop.
    Linda C

• sheilajoyce_gw
    14 years ago