Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lou_texas

opalescent moonstone hobnail

lou_texas
12 years ago

Hello, y'all. I've learned many things from hovering on this site and I'm still learning. It's been fun. What I need from you now is advice on next steps to take with some opalescent moonstone hobnail pieces.

My sister inherited dozens of these from our aunt about 20 years ago. Now she has decided that she wants to sell them, but neither of us knows anything other than the prices we see for random pieces on e-bay. We've never sold anything or bought anything on ebay. I need to know what our first steps should be. Should we find an appraiser? How should we go about doing that? Should we find a consignment shop? How would I know if we're receiving a fair deal? Would it be more profitable to sell the moonstone a piece at a time or as a complete set? My sister needs the money to supplement her soc sec income so I want to help her do this right.

Also, I noticed on ebay that there are two companies: Hocking and Foster. How would I know which we have? Does it make that much difference?

If I can learn from your experience, I'll surely appreciate it. Thanks, Lou

Comments (7)

• oldstuff4me
    12 years ago

As far as knowing whether it's Fenton or Hocking, this might help... "Fenton's hobs are more pointed, while the Hocking Moonstone hobs are smoother to the touch and more rounded."

From my experience selling on eBay, you are not really going to get what the items are "worth", but you will get "fair market value"... if that makes any sense.

Selling as a set would be ideal as far as convenience is concerned, but you may be able to make more $$ selling piece by piece. However, that could take ages and there may be some common pieces that you're never able to sell or end up having to give away for a song.