Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ken_tannenbaum

sell sterling by weight or item?

Ken Tannenbaum
11 years ago

We have a large set of Baltimore Rose pattern sterling flatware, about 70 pieces. It's gorgeous but useless to us.

Are we best off selling it by weight or perhaps on ebay as a set?

Thanks so much!

Comments (9)

• texasredhead
    11 years ago

You can obviously try Ebay or Craigslist. If you have access to Ebay, check to see what sterling sets are selling for.

• antiquesilver
    11 years ago

It probably depends on how old the set is & what's in it. In the mid-Atlantic where they were made, older sets of Kirk-Steiff repoussed patterns are usually in demand due to popularity & high quality.

• Ken Tannenbaum
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the advice. BTW, I'm a photographer, took this picture for the fun of it!

• antiquesilver
    11 years ago

Great photo - no easy task with silver - & what looks like a part of a very nice set. Far too nice to be melted down, IMO.

Why is it useless for you? Nobody said you can't use it for everyday.

• Ken Tannenbaum
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Kind of you to say. I've been a pro photographer for many years, that's what I do. We use some of the serving pieces but frankly, I hate the small round bowls of the soup spoons! Either way, the money would come in far handier than the sterling. We inherited these years ago along with some gorgeous plates, a magnificent coffee pot, etc. They just sit, untouched. I agree that melting them down would be nuts and venture a guess that who we'd bring these to would not melt them but sell the items as is. I may try ebay if I do anything at all.

• bspofford
    11 years ago