Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vanfurn

Identifying / Valuating this Dining Cabinet

vanfurn
12 years ago

Hi, I am pretty new to antiques but I am trying to make an educated guess about the origins and value of an item I have.

If anyone can offer any opinions from the attached photos, I would be grateful.

[IMG]http://i1231.photobucket.com/albums/ee502/dinobot2000/Dining01eSm.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i1231.photobucket.com/albums/ee502/dinobot2000/Dining01bSm.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i1231.photobucket.com/albums/ee502/dinobot2000/Dining01cSm.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i1231.photobucket.com/albums/ee502/dinobot2000/Dining01eSm.jpg[/IMG]

Comments (24)

• chibimimi
    12 years ago

Mahogany, art nouveau motifs. leaded glass -- probably ca. 1890, although it could be as late as 1920. It looks to me like British or European furniture. How large is it? Large enough to be a back bar? Do you have a better picture of the base?

• lazy_gardens
    12 years ago

Art Nouveau carvings on the doors ... looks English to me

Can you find any markings?

• dekeoboe
    12 years ago

Here are your pictures:

• lindac
    12 years ago

Why do you think it's old? Without looking very closely at the way it's made, it looks to me to be a very nice retro style cupboard....maybe dating to 1950? Certainly possible to be a lot newer.

• calliope
    12 years ago

I think the glass has been replaced in this unit. It may have had bent glass in the doors at one time. I'm not trying to demean the piece, but this is not a professional leading job. I also suspect the design. Notice how narrow the panes are on the curve, and one would have to do that to swing the curve. Is the mirror beveled?

If this is a repro, then it's a very high end one. I don't think it goes back to turn of the century either. I suspect late 30s or perhaps even later.

• vanfurn
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the help so far everyone.

As to the size, the dimensions are:

65" wide
    83" tall
    24" deep