Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jetsfan_gw

Chessboard set - need help to ID materials

jetsfan
13 years ago

Hi all

I just inherited an antique chessboard/set and since I have no knowledge of items like this, I'm looking for some help with it. Specifically, I'd like to know what its made of. A friend of mine told me that most boards are of the marble/onyx variety, and it seems this may be what I have here. Underneath the board there are slabs of stone pieced together. Just wondering if that could be a different type of stone.

If anyone has any ideas of what these materials might be I would greatly appreciate any info. Thanks and happy new year!

{{gwi:1374935}}

{{gwi:1374936}}

{{gwi:1374937}}

{{gwi:1374938}}

Comments (4)

• lindac
    13 years ago

Not so sure how "antique" the board is....but it sure looks like onyx. The stone under looks like perhaps unpolished marble or lime stone...
    But the figures are what's interesting. What do they appear to be made from? I suspect they originally went with a different board.
    How about closer pictures and a view of the bottom?
    Linda c

• jetsfan
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi and thanks for the info. I'm including some more pictures of the pieces themselves. I do seem to remember years ago my mother saying that the pieces were ceramic and hand-painted. Again I'm no expert but in looking at them, they seem to be molded from some kind plaster material. And if they are hand-painted, I would think there would be some kind of artist signature somewhere, but I don't see anything like that. I wouldn't mind getting some info about the pieces too and any info is much appreciated, thanks.
    {{gwi:1374940}}
    {{gwi:1374942}}
    {{gwi:1374943}}

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

Interesting set - white onyx and black marble or black-dyed onyx would be my guess for the board.

The figures are probably molded ceramic - bought as bisque and hand painted by a hobbyist. Nicely done.