Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deemarie088

Need help identifying old Court Cupboard??

deemarie088
10 years ago

Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum, and hope that someone can help me. I bought this about 5 years ago at a local shop and thought that it was an old server. My son was looking in an antique furniture book and thought that it looks more like a Court Cupboard. I have many more pics, but not sure how to post them in this message. I think it is made of oak and some other wood, is mortise and tenon joined with square wood pegs. It has external brass hinges that has MADE IN ENGLAND stamped on the outside of each one. It looks like it has an updated lock that says EAGLE LOCK CO, TERRYVILLE CONN USA. It has just 2 doors that open in the front, with carvings that look like sunflowers and tulips. It is about 38" wide and 35" wide. It is also signed on the back with a wood burned looking chair with name that I can't make out and a 4 digit number on the back near the top

Comments (21)

• deemarie088
    Original Author
    10 years ago

This is a pic of the signer, I think!

• deemarie088
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Brass hinges that have MADE IN ENGLAND stamped on them

• deemarie088
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Carved doors with brass pulls

• deemarie088
    Original Author
    10 years ago

A close up view of some of the pegs

• deemarie088
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The back of the cupboard. I hope that I can find out the history of this. I don't know if it is real old and has updates, or if it is a vintage handmade replica. The only info I found is for an old English court cupboard from 1630! Then, I did find some info in another book talking about court cupboards in Conn. In the 1700's, and about carvings with sunflowers and tulips

• lazy_gardens
    10 years ago

Nice piece. 1920s-1930s Jacobean Revival, probably made in the USA.