Some more from my latest gravestone photography

alisandeSeptember 18, 2012

Rather than post a bunch of pictures here, I thought I'd give you a link to some I selected.

How are the other volunteer gravestone photographers doing? I can't say I do this regularly, but when I binge, I binge! I'm up to 1,040 photographs on FindAGrave, and I've created 738 memorials. I've been doing this for four years, and it's definitely seasonal for me--no tramping about in the snow, or trying to take pictures with frozen hands.

So.....progress reports, anyone?

Gravestone photos and captions on my Flickr page

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
justlinda

Thanks for doing this. It might be just a name on a headstone to many people, but I bet to somebody/somewhere it is a real touchstone to the past. Very touching some of the ones you captured. They almost weave a family quilt with their info.

Bookmark   September 18, 2012 at 8:01PM
alisande

Thanks, Linda. I started doing this after finding photos of two of my great-great-grandparents online. I was so grateful to the anonymous person in England who had taken the time to do that, and decided to do what I could here.

I know several others at the KT started taking gravestone pictures at one point. Hoping to hear from them....

Bookmark   September 19, 2012 at 9:01AM
wanda_va

This is fascinating! Thanks so much for sharing.

My paternal grandparents are buried in Texas, and their gravestones have their photo on them. I think that's a nice touch. My grandfather died at 48; my grandmother was 72, so it looks as though my grandfather was married to a much older woman (until you look at the dates)!

My grandfather made marble and granite tombstones for a living--he owned his own company in Dallas. During the Depression, people often didn't have the money to pay him, so he took whatever was offered in exchange for the tombstone...anything from food to land.

Bookmark   September 19, 2012 at 9:17AM
lydia1959