Double bowl sink with a low center divide?

Melissa-KitchenNovember 22, 2012

I am replacing our countertops with granite as well as our current double sink. One of the options that I have available to me is a double sink that has a low center divide. I was told it is about half the height of the sink, so 4 1/2 inches. The benefit would be that I could lay a large roasting pan or cookie sheet across the two bowls of the sink but only having 4 1/2 inches depth before I overflow into the other side concerns me a little.

Does anyone have a similar sink? Do you like it, dislike it? I am a big baker but my present 50/50 sink is fine for washing cookie pans. I just wash one half and then flip for the second half. My only complaint is that I can't soak a large roasting pan in it.

I'll have to admit that I can't go with a single sink or a double with the tiny side bowl because I let my dishes drip dry in the other half of the sink. I don't want to have to dry them immediately or have something on the counter. I have young boys and after dinner cleanup is a crazy time around here. I do have a dishwasher so I'll only be using the sink for pots & pans.

Thanks in advance for any comments regarding the low divide sinks. I have had sick kids for 2 weeks and I am trapped in the house so I haven't been able to go play with the sinks in person.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
MizLizzie

Although I am deeply attached to my Kohler 70/30 Lakefield, I saw a lot to like in those low divide sinks when I was looking. But I rarely run a sink of water and wash dishes by hand. Still, 4 1/2 inches in that big bowl would be a lot of water.

I don't know if it helps you, or if you are set on stainless, but the Kohler's cast iron Carrizo is a really unusual sink with a sort of elevated drying deck. IIRC, the right side was roasting-pan sufficient. I liked it a lot. Link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Kohler Carrizo

Bookmark   November 22, 2012 at 10:19AM
badgergal