Are your pulls mounted on your slab or thru the drawer box?

akl_vdbAugust 18, 2014

For your lower drawers, are your pulls mounted through your drawer box and through the drawer front, or just on the drawer front? (necessitating taking the drawer front off to change the handles)
Our guys did ours today, and I'm not sure it's right, but I'm a nurse, not a carpenter, so what do I know. Hence, why I'm looking for advice!

Thank you!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
greenhaven

I put my screws through the front and box. Had to buy longer screws but it is the right way. Right for me anyway, lol!

Bookmark   August 18, 2014 at 8:57PM
Mgoblue85

Like GH mine go through both with longer screws. The drawer front did not have to come off in order to drill the holes or mount the handles.

Bookmark   August 18, 2014 at 9:13PM
westsider40

Ditto what gh said and my cab maker installed the pulls. I ordered my pulls online and had them sent to the cabmaker, Ayr.

Bookmark   August 18, 2014 at 9:57PM
akl_vdb

So our guys just drilled them through the slab drawer, which they would have had to take off to do. It's such a thin piece of 'wood'. I have 30, 34 and 36 inch drawers, and I'm not sure it will be sturdy enough.

I also noticed a part was a bit crooked (3 piece with echelon (eustation? I don't know the right word!)), so I was going to straighten it out, but I would have had to take the drawer front off!

I don't know what's going on around here!

Thanks for the real life experiences. I also would have put it all the way through, and the carpenter took the screws so he'd know to get longer.

I don't know what happened - well, I do. (it was raining today, they couldn't do outside work elsewhere so they called at 7:30 this am telling us they were coming as we were going to work!)

Bookmark   August 18, 2014 at 10:05PM
greenhaven